Vapor Barrier Going Up

May 4, 2014 – After taking the last few weekends off from building it was time to get back on track. I was working without Pete for the first time; he stayed in Marquette for the weekend to supply sugar maple logs for a shiitake mushroom growing workshop. The trees were cut from our property and in return for supplying the trees we were given 10 inoculated logs. It will take about a year before they produce any mushrooms, but once they start the logs should be productive for at least 5 years. I was able to make it back to Marquette in time to attend the workshop and I took some photos that I’ll post soon.

I finished spraying foam around the windows and filled the cavity of the wheel wells with spray foam as well. I was very fortunate to have help from my mom this weekend. She helped stuff extra insulation in the areas the blower hose missed and helped me put up most of the vapor barrier. It definitely would have been a near impossible task for one person; thanks mom!

Initially Pete and I were going to skip the vapor barrier. It’s been important to me to use as few toxic/off-gassing materials as possible within reason and I really did not want to wrap the house in plastic. We’ve also seen several other tiny house builders hand place wool insulation behind the tongue and groove walls, skipping the vapor barrier. However, my brother the builder strongly suggested we put up a vapor barrier. Not only will it help keep condensation out of the walls, it will also increase our R-value which is super important in our climate. Especially since we will be heating with propane and propane is not cheap! So, we sucked it up and bought a 100′ roll of 6 mil poly vapor barrier. I did read on some website that this type of plastic doesn’t do much off gassing and isn’t that toxic; however, I had a hard time finding any sort of information regarding environmentally friendly vapor barriers. Either way, I’m telling myself it’s perfectly healthy because it’s a done deal. I do plan on keeping the windows of the tiny house open all summer to help speed/eliminate construction material off gassing; it is after all a very tiny space!

Categories: Vapor Barrier | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Vapor Barrier Going Up

  1. Erin and Pete,
    The house looks great! I’m guessing that you’ve moved it to your property? We’ll see you at the Cafe’ once we get it opened again.
    Pat

  2. Bill Largent

    Good work. Did you move the house?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Heatherlynn

    Hi Erin and Pete! I’m new to your blog and have really enjoyed reading about your tiny house journey! I am in the process of designing my own tiny house on wheels and I’m hoping to start the build in early 2015. I live in New York now (which is where my tiny house will be) but I’m from the UP (Escanaba). I am here this week and would love to meet with you if you are free at all! I’m happy to take a drive to Marquette anytime that might work with your schedule (I’ll be heading back to NY the morning of Sunday, 6/15). Please feel free to email me and hopefully we can find a time! All the best, Heatherlynn

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 282 other followers

